Early 19th Century Brighton Pavillion Aquatint
The Brighton Pavillion (also known as the Royal Pavillion) was built at the behest of George IV (The Prince of Wales at the time) as a royal, seaside retreat in 1787.
Its building was extended in 1815 by the architect John Nash to its current incarnation.
George IV, William IV and Queen Victoria all used the pavillion until Victoria chose Osborne House as the offical royal seaside retreat and sold it to the City of Brighton in 1850.
This orginal aquatint depicts the centre part of the steine front of the Pavillion still has its vivid colour and definition and is a testament to this great architecural work. It was drawn by Augustus Pugin and aquatinted in colour crica. 1820
Dimensions: 29cm x 33.5